Web developers wiki ASP.NET Sitecore Sharepoint Kentico by Evident Interactive

Sitecore: Remove "publish site"

Modified: 2009/10/09 17:32 by vanthoog - Categorized as: Sitecore
In Sitecore it is sometimes undesirable, especially in a large multisite platform, that "common" editors do a "publish site". In this case it may be advisable to remove the "publish site" option from the menu of all users, except administrators.

This article describes what needs to be done to remove the option "publish site" from the menu of all users.

Basically you need to go to the core database and deny access to certain items in the menu to the role Everyone. Assigning or denying permissions to the role Everyone will assign or deny those permissions to all users except administrators (because administrators will bypass all security checks). It is important to realize that besides the role Everyone, there are also roles called Everyone within every domain; but to assign or deny permissions to every user you need to use the role Everyone and not the role Everyone in a specific domain.

Edit

To remove the "publish site" option from the start menu, do the following:

Go to the core database.

Start the "security editor".

Go to the content item "/sitecore/content/Documents and settings/All users/Start menu/Left/Publish Site" and select deny in the column "Read".

Remove

Remove "publish site" from the start menu


Edit

To remove the "publish site" option from the "content editor" menu, do the following:

Go to the core database.

Start the "security editor".

Go to the content item "/sitecore/content/Applications/Content Editor/Menues/Publish/Publish Site" and select deny in the column "Read".

Remove

Remove "publish site" from the "content editor" menu


 © Evident Interactive BV